I’ve made this pizza before.

It was when Handsome and I first moved in together, about three years ago. We were watching Everyday Food on PBS and I thought this roasted veggie and ricotta pizza sounded really sweet. So I transcribed the recipe from the show, went to the store, made the pizza, and Handsome and I had a homemade meal that night!

I hated it.

The vegetables tasted weird with the ricotta to me, and what was all that onion doing there? I missed tomato sauce, and was not a butternut squash fan. It was just too much…. Just goes to show how much my palate has expanded in the past few years, because when I gave this pizza a second try, I couldn’t get enough.

It’s the perfect pizza for cooler weather (which, I realize, is now on its way out). The butternut squash is sweet and tender, the potatoes and carrots taste soft and familiar, and the rosemary is warm and comforting. The pillows of ricotta dolloped around the vegetables melt in your mouth and provide a nice contrast to the crisp crust and the roasted vegetables. It makes your kitchen smell amazing, and it’s a great make-ahead dish: prepare the crust a day (or 3) before, and let it rise in the fridge. Roast the veggies the day before, storing them in the fridge as well. When you’re ready for pizza, just preheat the oven and allow yourself ten minutes of assembly.

I did make some tweaks. In the original recipe, Martha uses a pretty large crust (12″ x 16″), which supports more vegetables. I used a 13″ x 9″ cookie sheet for the crust (and a half recipe of Pioneer Woman’s pizza crust, which is now my go-to pizza crust recipe), so even when halving Martha’s recipe for Roasted Fall Vegetables, I had too many.¬†¬†Rather than overload the pizza, which would have resulted in a soggy crust and a disappointed me, I evenly distributed the vegetables I could, along with the mozzarella and ricotta, and just saved the leftovers. The measurements given here are my approximations of how much I actually used, and don’t include the leftover vegetables.

Roasted Fall Vegetable Pizza
Adapted from MarthaStewart.com

You will need:
1 pizza crust (I used a half recipe of Pioneer Woman’s pizza crust)
8 oz. mozzarella cheese, diced or shredded
6 oz. ricotta cheese (in this instance, do not substitute cottage cheese, as it is too runny)
1 tbsp. fresh rosemary leaves
Olive oil for drizzling
Salt and black pepper

Roasted vegetables:
3 carrots, peeled, halved lengthwise if thick, and cut into 1.5″ strips
4 red new potatoes, quartered
1/4 red onion (quarter one onion, and just separate the layers of one quarter. Use more if you like.)
1/2 butternut squash (I used approximately one pound), peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/5″ chunks
1-2 tbsp. olive oil
Salt and black pepper

Preheat oven to 475. Arrange vegetables in one layer on baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil; season with salt and pepper. Stir to coat veggies in oil. Roast 30-40 minutes, stirring once, until vegetables are tender.

Oil pizza pan (I used a 13″ x 9″ baking sheet) and spread crust onto it. Spread half mozzarella cheese onto crust. Top with roasted veggies, spread as evenly as possible. Dollop ricotta onto vegetables and top with remaining mozzarella. Finish with a drizzle of olive oil, rosemary, and salt and pepper. Bake 20-25 minutes, or until crust is golden brown and mozzarella is melted.

