Been awhile, huh?

Without going into too much detail, I will tell you three things.

1. Work has been picking up lately! Which doesn’t affect my home life, but it just means I have less energy in my down time for extra things. But that stops now.

2. My dear D has made a life change that means he works a different job that is more “shift” based. We’re not both on a 9-5 schedule anymore. (Which I think is sort of neat! More below.)

3. We got engaged! That’s right, guys. Two weeks ago while we were vacationing in New Mexico, D asked me to marry him, and I said yes. We don’t have details yet, but I am sure the blog will explode with DIY madness in the months to come. In the meantime, I am stocking up on all the sane, awesome, relevant, budget advice of the blog A Practical Wedding.

20130518_101653[1]

So, more on why D and I working opposite schedules is a neat thing.

I clean better when my partner isn’t at home. We have a pretty even partnership around the house– we both cook, we both take care of the cats, we both clean and do the laundry. He is more apt to take out the garbage and do car maintenance, and I am more likely to do “deep” cleaning. But I just don’t want to do that when he’s home. Every have that “clean the bathroom” moment when a 15-minute quick scrub turns into a 2-hour ordeal with you surrounded by every tube of mascara you’ve ever purchased? Yeah, I don’t do that when he’s home. And we live in a small, one-bedroom apartment, where we plan to stay for the next several years while D goes back to school. We also have a lot of hobbies. And when I say a lot, I mean we camp, I can and preserve, he homebrews, I cook and collect cookbooks, he paints, we both are digital and analog photographers, he’s still building a boat, and we garden. Plus we have cats. This is a lot of activity for 700 square feet, and it takes up a lot of space.

Enter the June Home Cleanse, which I’ve closely modeled after the January Home Cure from Apartment Therapy. See, if I’m going to spend the next year making jam favors, DIY-ing centerpieces, printing my own invites, and homebrewing enough beer for 100 people, I need to make some space in my life to do those things. Did I mention my little sister is also getting married? And I am the maid of honor? No? Yeah, you see what I mean. I need to make physical room in my home for all the good things that are happening over the course of the next year. I also need to jump-start this blog, and I love a good project, especially one that involves making a plan and following a list of pre-set instructions. I’m halfway d0ne with the Couch to 5k running program, with no running experience, basically because it’s set up so that every day, the program tells me what to do. I’m just obeying orders. Somehow, this is easier for me. Plus, at the end of the June Home Cleanse, I get to throw a dinner party!

June may not be the best month for this, since I’m taking a week off soon to go out of town, but the program is actually 3 weeks, not 4, so I figure it will be easy enough to catch back up when I’ve returned from my trip. But this summer is so busy for my new fiance, as he’s taking 3 classes and working full time at a new job, so this seems as good a time as any to start making space in our home for all the good that’s entering our lives.

Day 1 starts tomorrow morning, when I’ll be walking through my home and making a list of small and large things I want to improve. Basically, you want to make a list as you slowly walk through your home of things you want to change. Then, sit down with your list and break it up by room. Edit the list until you have only 3-5 items per room, so you don’t get overwhelmed. We won’t be tackling all of these projects this month, so don’t worry. This is month 1 of a long-term plan to declutter our homes and make them more pleasant, serene places to be. I can already think of several things, but I’m going to post the final list tomorrow. See Apartment Therapy’s Day 1 post for more details, and let me know if you’re joining me!

