I have a confession to make.

I stole my mother’s old copy of The Joy of Cooking.

That’s a lie.  She gave it to me.  In any case, I have it now.

I wanted brownies the other night, and I happened to have a leftover bar of chocolate from making the ganache for my mom and sister’s chocolate cupcakes with ganache, so I started going through my cookbooks and stumbled upon the recipe for Brownies Cockaigne.

I will tell you up front that these are not the most chocolatey brownies you will ever eat.  They are not the most fudgy, and probably not even the best.  I’ve made them twice and for whatever reason, they turn out lighter in color than I expect.  That’s a bit of a brownie turn-off for me, but I went with it.  They got the job done, and that’s maybe the best thing about them.  But they satisfied my craving for chocolate, Handsome ate them all, and they made me happy, so here you go.  Brownies Cockaigne.

You will need:
1/2 cup butter
4 oz. chopped bittersweet chocolate
4 eggs, at room temperature
1/4 tsp. salt
2 cups sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped pecans (I omitted this)

Preheat oven to 350.

Melt the butter and chocolate in a double boiler, then remove from heat and cool.

Beat the eggs with the salt until they are “light and foamy in texture.”

This is what we decided was "light and foamy"

Add the sugar gradually and beat until well creamed, then add vanilla.

In a “few swift strokes,” fold in the cooled chocolate by hand (Joy says so).

Fold in the flour by hand.  Stir pecans in gently, if using.

Ready to go into the oven

Bake in a 9×13 pan at 350 for about 25 minutes.

There’s a recipe for fudgey, chewy brownies in this month’s Cook’s Illustrated, and I can’t wait to try it.  I’ll let you know how it compares!

