I like to think I’m one of those people who is very organized. In a previous post, I talked about the high cost of real estate within my apartment, and my description of the shoe racks and underbed storage boxes probably made me sound a little Martha. But they say the truth shall set you free. So here goes.

I’ve never laid out my clothes the night before. The dishes are frequently not done before I go to bed. And I can count the number of times I’ve set the timer on the coffee maker, filled the basket with fresh grounds and the reservoir with water, and woken to the sweet smell of a fresh brew on one hand. More frequently, mornings find me hitting snooze too many times, begging my boyfriend to please start the coffee maker (as he leaves for work about an hour after I do), tossing pants in the dryer to de-wrinkle, and guaranteeing that I’ll be at least three minutes late for work.

This isn’t to say that I don’t make a good cup of coffee, because I do. I finally have a system…and a secret.

For every cup of coffee your coffeemaker makes, use one teaspoon of grounds. (We don’t have a scoop, so measurement by scoops is worthless for me.) This makes coffee at my perfect strength in my four-cup pot. My secret weapon is what I add to the coffee while it brews, and it’s an idea I got from one of my favorite coffee shops. The grind their beans with whole cardamom and cinnamon sticks. I could just buy beans from them, but my boyfriends prefers his coffee without all of my add-ins, generally. I can replicate their flavor in small doses, though, by sprinkling cinnamon into the grounds and putting a dash of vanilla into the pot.

It’s the best cup of coffee ever.

