I picked up the plastic tub of strawberries because their dark red plumpness called to me. I imagined myself and my friend lounging on the sofa, eating strawberries and talking about our love lives, gin and tonics in hand. We were grocery shopping in preparation for an impromptu three-person dinner of hamburgers, corn on the cob, and roasted potatoes, and I thought the strawberries would be a light palate-cleanser as we all prepared the meal. Something sweet, unassuming, and healthy to get us ready for a meal of juicy grease and starch.

The ice cream was an afterthought, I swear.

The gin and tonics made it into the picture, but the next thing I knew, it was barbecue chips and work gossip. The strawberries languished in the fridge until after burgers at the pool, and weren’t remembered until we were well into our first episode of the sitcom I just had to make sure my friend fell in love with. (She did.) I, in turn, fell in love with this utterly simple way to “fancy up” some vanilla ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Glaze
Serves 4, over ice cream
Note:  You could use frozen berries, or any other sort of berry, for this topping. I suspect it would also be quite delicious blended, though I served it as-is.

You will need:
1/2 lb. strawberries, hulled and quartered (see note)
1/4 c. granulated sugar
Juice of 1/2 lemon

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook about ten minutes, stirring occasionally, until strawberries have released their juices and the glaze is thick and shiny. Serve immediately, spooned over ice cream.

