strawberry vanilla jam

It all started so innocently. There I was, in the grocery store, picking up sundries for the week’s dinners. Donald and I had just come from the homebrew supply store, where we picked up the ingredients we needed for a Christmas beer. I was thinking how nice it would be to give some of this beer away as Christmas gifts, maybe with some jam. Then, I turned around. Texas strawberries, $1.50 a pound!

I bought 12 pounds, which as soon as I loaded them in the car made me think I had taken leave of my senses. What the heck am I going to do with 12 pounds of strawberries? Panic set in as I simultaneously assured Donald that I would not let 12 pounds of strawberries go bad and remembered that I had only ever made jam twice before, and those results were pretty mixed.

A quick trip to my favorite canning blog, Food in Jars, assured me that all was not lost. I could indeed make something delicious with my zillion strawberries. While Donald made us some delicious nachos for lunch, I sliced ten cups of strawberries (and realized that a pound of strawberries yields about 2 cups of chopped strawberries, so I really didn’t NEED 12 pounds, strictly speaking), combined them with a vanilla bean and some sugar, and stuck them in the fridge.

Then I proceeded to sneak little sugar-covered slices every hour for the next several hours.

The next day, Donald and I made a batch of holiday beer for Christmas gift-giving, we made shortbread for his birthday, we fried fish for fish tacos, and I processed those strawberries into beautiful jam.

Marisa over at Food in Jars does a great job of explaining the process, so head on over there for her recipe for vanilla-scented strawberry jam. Marisa’s recipe got me about a dozen 4-ounce jars, and two half-pint jars. I had a few tablespoons left over, so I poured them into a jar, let it come to room temp, and ate it on toast immediately. The jam had set up nicely, the vanilla was super subtle, and the strawberry flavor was transcendent.

One thought on “strawberry vanilla jam”

Leave a Reply

