strawberry thyme jam

I’m in love with small-batch canning.

I made jam out of less than a pound of black mission figs that turned the richest raspberry red and had the most complex, tart and sweet flavor profile I’ve tasted from a jam. The only ingredients were figs, sugar, and some lemon juice. I’ve also made small batches of peach jam with rosemary, with bourbon, and with strawberries. I’ve made strawberry jam with basil. I made pure peach-and-sugar preserves from the last few cups of chopped peaches I had in the fridge.

I also love the tiny, four-ounce quilted jars. They make me feel more accomplished. A small batch of jam might yield 2 half-pint jars, if you’re lucky, but it can give you four or even five of these tiny jars! Since I’m planning on giving a lot of jam in Christmas gifts this year, more jars are better.

They’re also portable– I took a soy-and-sesame sauce to work with me in one of these baby jars, to dip dumplings into at lunch. It stayed sealed in my bag all day without leaking, and made me feel just a little fancier in the middle of the day. I’ve been putting out three or four jars of jam with breakfast, along with sliced cheese, fruit, and toast, and seeing the little cluster of jars gives a simple meal much more ceremony.

The smaller jars, and smaller batches, also free me up to try new combinations. Strawberry-thyme jam, for example, is just herby enough to make it really interesting, but still pretty sweet and familiar. It’s made with honey and comes together quickly. The instructions say to weigh the honey, since it doesn’t come out of measuring cups easily, but I have a trick (and I don’t have a kitchen scale, so…): Run your measuring cup under hot water for a minute, then measure the honey. The heat from the cup will encourage the honey to slide right out.

Marisa from Food in Jars does a great job of explaining the instructions for this jam on The Kitchn, so pop over there for the recipe and start experimenting!

4 thoughts on “strawberry thyme jam”

  1. I am also fond of making small batches of jam. It is less labor intensive and easier to try new flavor combinations! I have made strawberry and vanilla from Marisa’s recipes but have yet to venture out and add herbs to my fruit.
    You may have convinced me with your luscious strawberry thyme jam!

    1. Thanks! You should definitely try it, and a small batch is a great way to do that. Peach-rosemary and strawberry-basil are good combos too, in my experience.

  2. I really love the jams you sent us this past Xmas! I liked them so much that I’ve tried making my own. The Fig Mission jam worked out well and now I want to try the strawberry thyme jam. But I have a question first…if skipping the water bath step, will this effect the flavor and life of the jam?

    1. Hi Regina! The water bath is what makes the jam shelf-stable, so if you skip it, just store the jam in the freezer. Most web sites say it’s good for at least a couple months, but in my experience, it lasts a really, really long time. Just make small batches and don’t leave it in the pantry!

Leave a Reply

